Merit Badges

Merit Badges are the second main area of the Boy Scout advancement program. Unlike ranks, there is a degree of choice in the merit badge program. A scout must earn 21 Merit Badges to be eligible for Eagle Scout.

Boy Scouts may work on merit badges from they time they join a Scout troop until they turn 18 years old. There is no time limit for completion of merit badges other than age 18.

Of the 21 merit badges required, 13 of them must be from a group of 17 “Eagle” merit badges.

Below is the list of Eagle Merit Badges

First Aid
Citizenship in the Community
Citizenship in the Nation
Citizenship in the World
Personal Fitness
Emergency Preparedness OR Lifesaving
Environmental Science OR Sustainability
Personal Management
Swimming OR Hiking OR Cycling
Cooking, and
Family Life